Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde wins House confidence with 164 votes


Mumbai: Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde wins House confidence with 164 votes. As expected, Maharashtra Chief Minister CM Eknath Shinde’s government supported by the Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday won the critical ‘vote of confidence’ in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

The new Eknath Shinde-led government won the floor test by a 164-99 margin, proving his government’s majority and cementing his position as Chief Minister of the state and the leader of the Shiv Sena.

This is the second big legislative victory for the Shinde government — sworn-in on June 30 along with Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis — in the past two days.

On Sunday, the alliance candidate and BJP’s advocate Rahul Narwekar was elected the new Speaker, trouncing the Maha Vikas Aghadi’s Shiv Sena nominee Rajan Salvi with a comfortable margin.

Fadnavis congratulated Shiv Sena-BJP Chief Minister Shinde, a disciple of late Balasaheb Thackeray and Anand Dighe, for winning the trust vote with a handsome margin.

The Speaker’s election followed by the trust vote for the Shinde-led government came on the second day of the 2-day Special Session of the Assembly convened by Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

Meanwhile, the Shiv Sena – the Uddhav Thackeray faction – has called a meeting of all its district chiefs on Monday afternoon at Shiv Sena Bhavan in Mumbai.

Shinde’s rebellion against Uddhav Thackeray had led to the fall of the government within 2.5 years.



About Author

Maintain by Designwell Infotech