Live: LS Polls 2014 – Polling begins in Assam and Tripura


Agartala/Guwahati: The nine-phase Lok Sabha election begins today from India’s northeast, with polling in five of the 14 seats in Assam and one of the two seats in Tripura.

The six are part of the 543 constituencies where polling will take place from April 7 to May 12. The result will be known May 16.

The Congress is the major force in Assam which it rules while the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) is the dominant force in Tripura. But the opposition is aggressive in both states. An estimated 6.4 million people are eligible to vote Monday to pick representatives to the Lok Sabha from Tezpur, Jorhat, Kaliabor, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur constituencies in Assam.

According to the Election Commission, a total of 51 candidates are in the fray Monday in Assam, which will elect the remaining nine Lok Sabha members on April 12 (three) and 24 (six).

Monday’s balloting will be held in 8,588 centres.

Voting Monday will be held from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m in the six constituencies in the two states. Campaigning in all five constituencies ends at 5 p.m. Saturday.



About Author

Maintain by Designwell Infotech