India’s tour to Australia: VVS Laxman, Kapil Dev surprised with Suresh Raina’s exclusion from ODIs


New Delhi: Veteran Indian cricketers Kapil Dev and VVS Laxman have said that the Indian selectors have been a little harsh in excluding Suresh Raina from India’s ODI squad for the upcoming Australian tour.

Speaking to CNN IBN, Laxman, who unleashed his best performances against the Aussies, said that he was surprised with the decision as it’s not an easy task batting at number 6 when the required run-rate is more than eight or ten runs per over.

Meanwhile, Kapil Dev too heaped praise on Raina saying that he was a captain’s delight.

“One of those batsman the captain love to have. He gives his 100 %. In last 5 yuears, he is one of those cricketers, you can’t hide,” Kapil told CNN IBN.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) earlier announced the squads for the Australian tour where Yuvraj Singh and Ashish Nehra made a comeback in the T20 squad.

Here are the squads announced for the Australian tour by the BCCI:

ODI: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(C), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Maan, Rishi Dhawan, Brainder Sran

T20: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(C), Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Harbhajan Singh, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra

The tour comprises five ODIs and three T20 Internationals to be played between January 12 and 31 at Perth, Brisbane, Melbourne, Canberra, Sydney (ODIs), Adelaide, Melbourne and Sydney (T20Is).


About Author

Maintain by Designwell Infotech