Bihar election results: BJP’s Parliamentary Board to meet today


New Delhi: A day after losing to the Grand Alliance of the Janata Dal-United (JD-U), the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Parliamentary Board will on Monday analyse the poll results in Bihar.
The BJP Parliamentary Board, in which Prime Minister Narendra Modi is among the members, is likely to meet at 4 pm today to assess the party’s defeat and ascertain the reasons.

The PM is likely to attend the meet in which almost all top party leaders, including its chief Amit Shah, will be present.

More than the defeat, it is its scale that has stung the party as it was expecting a cohesive social arithmetic in its favour against the Mahagathbandhan.

Already some Bihar leaders, including Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav and Ashwini Choubey, have said that RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat’s quota comments cost the party while there is also a feeling in a section the decision of not projecting a chief ministerial face gave Nitish Kumar an advantage.

Some BJP leaders felt that the “social combination” of the winning Grand Alliance could have caused NDA’s defeat.

The RJD and JD-U ended up winning 80 and 71 seats each and the Congress 27. The BJP was the winner in 53 constituencies, and three allies — the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) — could together bag only five seats (2, 1, 2 respectively).

The Communist Party of India-Marxist-Leninist-Liberation had won three seats and Independents four.

The much-maligned Lalu Prasad’s RJD ended up as the single biggest party.

(With Agency inputs)


About Author

Maintain by Designwell Infotech