Biennial polls to 7 Karnataka Council seats on June 29: ECI


New Delhi, June 9 (IANS) The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday announced biennial elections to seven Karnataka Legislative Council seats will be held on June 29.

The results will be declared by 5 pm on June 29 itself after counting of votes as the council membership of seven MLAs is expiring on June 30 and the Commission is determined to complete the whole election process before it.

The ECI has announced the poll time from 9 am to 4 pm.

The membership of Naseer Ahmed, Jayamma, M.C. Venugopal, N.S. Bose Raju, H.M. Revanna, T.A. Sharavana and D.U. Mallikarjuna is expiring on June 30.

Based on the inputs received from Karnataka Chief Election Office, the ECI will issue the poll notification on June 11, with nomination papers to be submitted by June 18.

The scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on June 19 and the last date of withdrawal of candidature will be June 22, said the Commission.

In a statement, the ECI said that close monitoring of the whole process by appointing observers will be done to ensure free and fair elections.

The commission also directed the state Chief Secretary to depute a senior officer to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for the conduct of the elections.



About Author

Maintain by Designwell Infotech