Virbhadra accepts Congress' defe…

  Shimla: Himachal Prade…

When Raghu Rai was 'captured' by…

  New Delhi: As Raghu Ra…

Congress should take all parties…

  New Delhi: Samajwadi P…

Gujarat trends are heartening: T…

  New Delhi: Congress le…

LS adjourned for the day over Mo…

  New Delhi: The Lok Sab…

10 killed in Mumbai shop blaze

  Mumbai: At least 10 pe…

Gujarat results would have been …

  New Delhi: Nationalist…

Lok Sabha adjourned till noon

  New Delhi: The Lok Sab…

My plan is to transform Congress…

  New Delhi: Congress Pr…

Vote count in Himachal begins

  Shimla: Counting of vo…



Mumbai: 28 Kartika, Saka 1939
Saturday, 19 Nov 2017

           Over 10000 runners participated in the 2nd edition of the Western Naval Command Indian Navy Half Marathon on 19 Nov 17. The marathon was organised in three categories, viz. a 21 km Aircraft Carrier run with nearly 3700 runners, a 10 km Destroyer run with nearly 4500 runners and a 5 km Frigate run with nearly 2000 runners.
           The 21 km run was flagged off by Vice Admiral Girish Luthra, Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief Western Naval Command, who also gave away prizes to the winners. The event saw runners not only from Mumbai, but from many other parts of the country as well and the fact that a large number of people turned up to cheer the runners was heartwarming.
          The inaugural WNC Navy Half Marathon was held last year, in 2016 and had a healthy response from over 5000 runners. Owing to its flawless organisation, success and popularity, within a year the number of participants more than doubled in 2017 and the response at registrations indicates that the event is set to grow from strength to strength in the next editions and become a signature event of the Mumbai running calendar.
*21 Km Men’s Open:*
First: Dnyaneshwar Moragha (01:09:42)
Second: Manohar Tambe
Third: Vidyanand Yadav
*21 Km Women’s Open:*
First: Leelamma Alphonso (01:42:56)
Second: Kranti Selvi
Third: Payal Khanna
*10 Km Men’s Open:*
First: Dinesh Mourya (00:32:43)
Second: Devinder Singh
Third: Karamjit Singh:
*10 Km Women’s Open:*
First: Kavita Bhoir (00:42:31)
Second: Shweta Gavde
Third: Rashi Kadam
*21 Km Men’s Senior Veterans:*
First: Pandurang Chougule (01:28:43)
Second: Pravin Gaikwad
Third: John Lancelot Cutinha
*21 Km Women’s Senior Veterans:*
First: Lata Alimchandani (01:58:35)
Second: Sandra Jacquet
Third: Meena Thaker
*10 Km Men’s Veterans:*
First: Ravi Kalsi (00:39:55)
Second: Sudhakar Salvankar
Third: Sunil Handa
*10 Km Women’s Veterans:*
First: Olivia Roberts (00:53:27)
Second: Shalini Aurora
Third: Gitanjali Lenka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *